Deutsche Sprache
One level up


Whether you want to take some time out from a shopping spree, are interested in modern art or simply want to relax on a bench in front of one of the two ponds, the Ständehaus park is always worth a visit.

The 6-hectare park by the Ständehaus is a semi-natural green oasis in the middle of Düsseldorf and a great spot to relax and unwind. The winding paths beneath the tall trees provide sudden glimpses of the city skyline on the horizon, of the Ständehaus and of the tranquil water. It is easy to forget that the Kaiserteich and Schwanenspiegel ponds are also part of a running stream: the southern Düssel runs through here, before passing beneath the Haroldstraße to the Spee’scher Graben and finally disappearing at the Stadtmuseum where it flows via a canal into the Rhine.

A walk through the city from Graf-Adolf-Platz, passing by the Schwanenspiegel and along the Spee’scher Graben to the Stadtmuseum, has historic dimensions. The route follows the former boundaries of Düsseldorf’s fortifications and reveals the extent of the wall and moat system, which was designed to protect the city centre. In the peace treaty of Lunéville in 1801, it was decided to tear down the fortifications. Far-sighted city planners took advantage of the demolition and with Napoleon’s authorisation used the area to create parks and gardens. The renowned garden architect Maximilian Weyhe cleverly integrated the remainders of the fortification system into today’s park by the Ständehaus and at the Spee’scher Graben, and created a green promenade. For its inclusion in the European Garden Region EUROGA 2002plus, the park by the Ständehaus was extensively restored according to the original designs from 1819.


The Ständehaus
Between 1876 and 1880, the government in Berlin granted permission for the building of the Ständehaus as the parliament and administrative building of the Rhenish Provincial Council. The Cologne architect Julius Raschdorff was commissioned with the design of the neo-Renaissance-style building and he gave careful consideration to the forms of the park. As a result, the architecture and parkland are so successfully unified that the state custodian declared the Ständehaus and the adjoining park a joint conservation area.

After the Second World War, the Ständehaus was used as the parliament building of the state of North Rhine-Westphalia until 1988.

Following extensive refurbishment, it has had a two-fold function since 2002: as a representative building of the state and as a fitting venue for the NRW art collection, which opened a branch for 21st-century art, “K21” here. The collection continues into the surrounding park, which alongside existing sculptures such as the fountain sculpture “Father Rhine and his Daughters”, now also displays contemporary art. Besides paintings, drawings and photos, the exhibition in the Ständehaus also encompasses many multimedia pieces. Visitors use all their senses to explore the experimental video and audio works and screen projects.


Orientation map (2.1 MB)


Unterbilk/ Ständehausstraße/
Wasserstraße/ Haroldstraße
40213 Düsseldorf
Total Area 6 ha


To top One level up
SearchSitemapContactLegal & TOS